Most popular transmission. T400?

chipw

I bought a used prerunner with a6.0L Votec mated to a Turbo 400, reverse pattern, manual shift transmission. Rearend is geared at 5:29. This transmission seems bombproof and i love the low end torque, which i suppose is why it seems so popular of a transmission, but on the road 65mph is about the max crusing speed i can get. Its not a road vehicle, but i still find myself wishing i had one more gear.
What are some other popular transmissions used in these types of vehicles? Whats the reason for the turbo 400's popularity? This may be a stupid question, im new to these types of trucks. Being from Georgia, theres not a lot of local knowledge to draw upon. Were mostly rock crawlers or mall crawlers around her

Attachments

• 20240221_093207.jpg
    20240221_093207.jpg
    545.4 KB · Views: 16
Th400 are popular because they are a very strong transmission without much parts needed to be upgraded. The next best option for you to want to drop highway RPMs would be to get a 4l80e. Manual valve body would make it not electronic and work as your th400 does now. BUT would require driveline modification, trans crossmember and mount, shifter, etc. So if you want to drop RPM on freeway cruising the limited amount that you do you will have to pony up decent money on a 4l80e OR you could find a gear vendors unit for the back of your th400 to make it an overdrive but then you lose some strength for the transmission.