How you move your Mountain bike

shi_thead__

So I recently started riding mountain bikes i came from bmx so im used to throwing a bike in the bed of the truck.

With nice suspension and derailers one worries about just tossing the bike in a truck bed.

So i picked up a tailgate pad. That works fine but doesn't really lock them or have any anti theft design.

Fast forward to yesterday when i put my rooftop tent on my nissan to do some roadtrip camping and would like to bring bikes. But how?

I discovered if i pull the seatpost and rear wheel itll fit under the tent. But this still doesn't solve security and the bike sits right on the derailer.

Any ideas? Could fit 2 without wheels layed in the bed underneath.

Ive thought about building a bracket mounted to the bed floor (nissan utilitrack) to maybe catch and clamp the rear through axle. (Maybe it would lock and keep the derailer off the floor)20221027_122009.jpg20221027_114647.jpg

Rad that it fits under the tent !

Id say just lock it up with a cable lock to a tiedown point.

Tailgate pad for the win.

52311853027_6716db68dc_b.jpg

I've found hooking up a strap to the side cleat with a velcro strap will keep the bike upright even on windy roads.

With the tent on there, I'd say most of the time the bed is going to be full of camping stuff. so hitch rack might be a nice.

For Mouse I mounted some yakima roof racks to the rack. Mtb bike sticks off a bit but i wanted to make sure the rack would still open all the way I was trying to figure out a way to mount the tent and the bike. Was thinking of just sliding the tent off to one side and then making some mounts for the bike rad kinda over the bed rail.

51938384814_ecc78fa9ea_b.jpg
51715531506_99d66cfb0f_b.jpg

Hitch rack on motorhome and 4 runner.
52188444886_60087aec2b_b.jpg

Yakima roof set up for my wife ride..
I need to get a hitch on this thing though so I can use the Kuat rack.

52028928606_7b4f325446_b.jpg

Gotta have options 🤡🤡🤡

Mtb is life.