"Built vs Bought"

dwphoto

Administrator
The age old question of Built vs Bought...

Do you start with a stock vehicle and build it from the ground up or do you buy something already built and go have fun with it and make changes as needed?

What's your take ?

oh this could be fun... I have bought a few " finished vehicles" and they are never finished. Seems like I am always buying other peoples problems... But then again, I also like making a truck mine and tinkering is fun.

All that being said. i would never build a ground up vehicle again. way too much work and time.

As a builder I see both sides. I have worked on many vehicles that need so much work to be sound and safe to even use, it would have been better for the owner to start over vs waste money to pay someone to fix the issues. I think it all depends on ur budget and knowledge. If u are buying a vehicle why not have a known reputable fabricator and mechanic asses the vehicle in question. That money could be way worth it. I do think that building a vehicle in stages can be the way to go for newcomers. Another thing to think about that most don't is, has the vehicle had all the bugs worked out. We have all been there, new builds take time to get the issues worked out and a seasoned well built vehicle can be worth it weight in gold and a lot of buyers over look that aspect. Fash is everything now of days. It's easy to make vehicle look good but u can't change the bones with out major surgery. I have seen so many newly built vehicles sold with no miles on the for big $ over a well built seasoned truck that may need some TLC.

Really depends. I’d buy a project , for example, a pre 87 Bronco that already had a solo or desolate kit on it, anything beyond that I either couldn’t afford or would pick it apart and re do it anyway.

if you're going to build it... you really have to enjoy the building process. Because nearly everything else about building a truck is a negative.