Swing set steering question

chipw

Im really new to this so its possibly a stupid question, but...

What is the difference in swing set steering and just a regular steering gear box with centerlink, pitman and idler arms? From looking at pictures of cad drawings, the swing set kits just look like beefed up versions of that. I know there must be more to it. Someone please educate me.

Technically it’s the same thing.
The idler arm steering you’re talking about is found on an arm trucks like old Toyotas right?
Swing set steering is designed to work with beams which cross from one side of the vehicle to the other. The “swingers” hang down and swing vertically because the tie rod needs to be pivoting from the same location that its respective beam pivots is at to eliminate or lessen bump steer and also keep things Ackerman and motion ratios correct.

Thanks for the reply. Yes, i was talking the type of steering found on old trucks, specifically, a chevy S10 in my experience, but Toyota probably had similar.
The swingset steering kit i was comparing to the old style steering box with pitman arm is specifically made to replace a rack and pinion steering system on a truck with A-arms. The difference is, obviously, how much beefier the swing set is to the old style box/pitman,idler/center link setup, but other then the more robust construction, what does a swingset do to remove bump steer that an old school saginaw box and pitman arms doesnt do?
Picture of swingset im talking about:
Screenshot_20240127_155119_Samsung Internet.jpg

Oh that’s different than a swing set on a beam. That style does nothing geometry wise. It just replaces the weak steering rack and gives you way stronger components. That’s all

Oh that’s different than a swing set on a beam. That style does nothing geometry wise. It just replaces the weak steering rack and gives you way stronger components. That’s all