Local Legend Betsy 1418

juberafab

Betsy started out as an 1999 F150 that I bought in HS. It had a 6 inch lift. I always wanted long travel, but was a poor kid with a truck payment and no money. I was an amateur garage fabber if you could call it that. I had a Lincoln 110 welder, grinder, HF pipe kinker, and minimal tools. That being said I saved my pennies and did any research I could mainly on DR. I Learned what I could and started buying parts slowly. My first lowers were cut out of 3/16" mild steel with a 4.5" HF grinder. I had roughly 70 to 80 hours into those arms. The uppers were DOM tube with a horizontal uniball. I had read somewhere on the forums that the shocks were supposed to be mounted at 90*. No where did it say at bump and 90* to the arms. Well I soon found out the shock mounts were wrong and were digressive at bump. Believe it or not the truck actually worked pretty well with the Sway Aways. As the truck evolved I fixed the shock geometry and got deavers with 18 inch threaded bodies because I knew I would eventually link the truck when I learned more... More in future posts.

Last edited:
You guys are still running a 5.4l, correct? What transmission are you running?

Yeah we are still running the stock 5.4L . we have a build 4L80 that a buddy of our built. When o get time the new motor will be going in. I have to build a custom belt system for it and currently don't have any spare time.

Who's adapter did you go with? I currently have a 4R70 in my F150 and if I'm going to spend money on a built trans I'd rather have a 4l80 then a 4R100 or 4R70