Mojave Road - Thanksgiving 2024 November 27-29/30

Gdeyarmond

Where: Mojave Road (Mohave Trail for the true OGs in this group who predate Statehood) starting at the Arizona border.

Who: Me, my wife, my Tacoma (4x4 6MT), her JL Wrangler (4x4 6MT)

The Deal: I've never done this trip before, or even gone more than 50-60ish miles offroad in one shot. It looks simple enough, I have like 3 different GPS software with offline maps downloaded, Jerry cans, water cans, spare tires, tools, recovery straps, and traction boards (from Costco, so if they don't work I'm returning them), homemade ammo can fire pit (think of tacticool pits, but mine is tactitoocool), plenty of propane, blah blah blah. I feel properly geared up.

The Question: Is November the "right" time to do this trip? Has anyone run into big issues doing this from Arizona heading back into California? What are some tips and pointers for at least a 2-vehicle caravan?

Its not nearly as hard as "overlanders" say it is. Ive ran it more times than I can count in my shitbox 2wd toyota p/u with a fabtech kit and some deavers (and a locker).
It sounds like youre VERY prepared. Ive never done it in Nov, but Oct was nice (still warm in the daytime), and Dec was too cold for me (I think it was an overly cold year or something). Nov *should* be nice. I prefer spring when the deserts blooming and everythings green, but thats just me.
The last time I did it, the trail was so "burned-in" that it wouldve been hard to get lost. It was also full tit-jiggling "razor chop" due to all of the assclowns that run it in their SxS. And we were also stopped where the road crosses Cima rd by some govt nerd in an explorer that was making sure we were street legal. He said the park service was talking about closing it down due to all of the typical reasons they shut shit down for.
How many days are you guys spending out there?